Graduate School

Advances in Digital Media

Funded by the Klaus Tschira Foundation

Speaker

Prof. Dr. Rainer Malaka

Phone: +49 421 218-64402
Fax: +49 421 218-64409

e-mail: malaka(at)tzi.de

Overview

Computers have expanded into more and more areas of life. They are already omnipresent in many parts of our private and professional everyday life.

While personal desktop computers (PCs) have been playing a major role over the last decades, today a shift from classical desktop computers towards distributed, mobile, and embedded devices is becoming apparent, computerizing the users environment. The way people interact with their environment using this digital media poses a number of challenges for modern computer science.

These challenges are subject of active scientific research under a couple of different keywords: Mobile Computing, Ambient Intelligence, Ubiquitous Computing, or Pervasive Computing. While focussing on slightly different aspects, all these areas of research share the fundamental question, how digital media can be shaped in the future to the benefit of the user and how applications can be mapped to the new technological possibilities.

Within the Graduate School Digital Media these topics shall be researched following an application-oriented approach and according to their interdisciplinary nature. Scholarship holders will be accompanied by an integrated course program featuring topics from adjacent disciplines.

Cooperations

Besides the University of Bremen, the Graduate School Digital Media works in close cooperation with following organizations:

Graduiertenkolleg

Advances in Digital Media

Gefördert von der Klaus Tschira Stiftung

Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Rainer Malaka

Telefon: +49 421 218-64402
Telefax: +49 421 218-64409

E-Mail: malaka(at)tzi.de

Überblick

Computer dringen in immer mehr Lebensbereiche vor. In vielen Bereichen des privaten und beruflichen Lebens sind Computer mittlerweile allgegenwärtig.

Nachdem in den letzen Dekaden vor allem Arbeitsplatzrechner (PCs) die Hauptrolle spielten, zeichnet sich heute eine Entwicklung ab, bei der der klassische Desktop-Rechner immer mehr in den Hintergrund tritt und immer stärker verteilte, mobile und eingebettete Rechner die Umgebung der Nutzer computerisieren. Die Interaktion der Menschen mit ihrer Umgebung über diese digitalen Medien stellt die Informatik vor eine Reihe von Herausforderungen.

Diese Herausforderungen werden unter verschiedenen Schlagworten wissenschaftlich untersucht: Mobile Computing, Ambient Intelligence, Ubiquitous Computing oder Pervasive Computing. Diese Bereiche unterscheiden sich zum Teil durch unterschiedliche Akzentuierungen, aber allen gemeinsam ist die Fragestellung, wie in Zukunft digitale Medien zum Nutzen der Anwender gestaltet werden können und wie Anwendungen auf die neuen Möglichkeiten der jeweiligen Techniken abgebildet werden können.

Im Graduiertenkolleg sollen diese Themen anwendungsorientiert bearbeitet werden. Da die Themengebiete von Natur aus interdisziplinär sind, ist das Graduiertenkolleg auch breit angelegt. In einem integrierten Lehrprogramm werden die Stipendiaten begleitet und lernen über interdisziplinäre Veranstaltungen auch benachbarte Disziplinen und Inhalte kennen.

Kooperationen

Neben der Universität Bremen ist das Graduiertenkolleg Digitale Medien eng mit den folgenden Organisationen vernetzt: