Human Computation

Human Computation is a paradigm where humans solve problems that are easy for them but yet difficult for computers. Image and speech recognition for instance belong to this group of problems. The task to solve is outsourced to a large group of participants wich is called crowdsourcing. In contrast to computers, which only need electricity to work, humans have to be constantly motivated for their contribution. Many different strategies evolved in HC-Projects to solve this problem. A promising way to motivate people to participate in such an HC-Grid is to integrate the HC-Task into a computer game and let users solve a defined problem while playing the game.

Our main research interests include, but are not limited to, Human Computation game design issues and fields of Application.

Collaborative Tagging is a powerful method to create folksonomies that can be used to grasp/filter user preferences or enhance web search. Recent research has shown that depending on the number of users and the quality of user-provided tags powerful community-driven semantics or “ontologies” can emerge...

The present work and demonstration system aims at finding an efficent and cost e ffective human computation method, to expand the linguistic capabilities of interactive games, that need it to respond appropriately to the language based input of their users.

Each day millions of people are playing digital games with di erent motivations. These motivations are ranging from time beating to deep immersion into a narration or interacting with a community. To address all these di erent means, a range of game designs is necessary.

Understanding natural language is still a challenging field for artificial systems. Answering questions given in a natural language or finding relevant search results to these questions are problems tackled by different researchers.

This thesis sets out to explore whether the socially desired quality of “being successful” correlates with the artificial beauty of digitally enhanced pictures. Furthermore, it investigates the question whether people are able to detect manipulated images.

Human Computation

Human Computation ist ein Paradigma, bei welchem Menschen Aufgaben lösen, die derzeit nicht oder nur schwer maschinell gelöst werden können. Dabei werden diese Aufgaben an eine große Anzahl von Menschen ausgelagert - auch Crowdsourcing genannt. Viele Bild- und Sprachverarbeitungsprobleme bieten sich für diese Form der Verarbeitung an, da maschinelle Ansätze hier noch Schwierigkeiten haben mit Menschen zu konkurrieren. Im Gegensatz zu Maschinen müssen Menschen allerdings zur Teilnahme an einem solchen Netz motiviert werden. Ein interessanter Ansatz zur Lösung dieses Dilemmas ist es, die zu lösende Aufgabe in ein Computerspiel zu integrieren und den Spieler die Aufgabe während des Spiels, lösen zu lassen.

Wir beschäftigen uns primär aber nicht ausschließlich mit Problemen des Spieldesigns für Human Computation und ihren Anwendungsgebieten.

Kollaboratives annotiern ist eine Methode zur Erzeugung von Folksonomien, welche zur Filterung und Suche von Inhalten im Internet genutzt werden können. Diese Arbeit stellt einen Ansatz zur Erzeugung von Folksonomien mit Hilfe von Computerspielen vor.

Diese Arbeit zeigt eine effiziente Methode zur Verbesserung der linguistischen Fähigkeiten interaktiver Spiele auf Basis von Human Computation. Unterschiedliche Spieldesign- Typen werden analysiert um ihren Einfluss auf die gewonnen Daten zu bestimmen.

Human Computation Spiele haben gezeigt, dass sie zur Lösung von Problemen beitragen, deren Lösung durch künstliche Systeme allein nicht möglich ist. Jedes dieser Spiele besitzt ein einzigartiges Design viele dieser Spiele gehören aber zu einem sehr speziellen Typ von Puzzlespielen.

Das Verstehen natürlicher Sprache ist weiterhin eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe für künstliche Systeme. Die Beantwortung natürlich sprachlicher Fragen oder das Finden relevanter Suchergebnisse für diese Fragen ist eine Problemstellung die von vielen Wissenschaftlern untersucht wird.

Diese Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie die sozial erwünschte Eigenschaft „erfolgreich sein“ mit der künstlichen Schönheit nachbearbeiteter Bildern korreliert. Des weiteren wird untersucht, ob Menschen in der Lage sind, manipulierte Bilder zu erkennen.