Semantics & Context

Everything we see, hear or touch in the realm of digital media has a specific form, meaning and function. Given a set of forms – be they visual elements of graphical interfaces, words or tangible objects – we are ultimately interested in their function as digital mediators between humans and computers. In order to examine the functioning of mediating forms one needs to look at both their semantics and the context in which they are being used. This constitutes our motivation for looking at semantic- and contextual computing as a closely intertwined research focus.

Semantic Computing

This research area examines the employment of semantic technologies for enabling digital media systems and interfaces to understand the user's intention, the digital content at hand and themselves. Correspondingly, research questions arise how to represent and determine the pertinent knowledge as well as how to employ the models -ranging from fully axiomatized ontologies to lightweight folksonomies. Specific areas of employment are, for example, searching, extracting and understanding digital content such as speech, text/hypertext or images.

Contextual Computing

Context is still a challenge for multimodal human computer interaction. The main-stream treatment language processing and human-computer interaction is based on the principle of strong compositionality and on representational approaches, these state that meaning is determined by form and is representable independent of context. Context is also problematic in the myriad practical applications of artificial intelligence. There is now increasing recognition that context-independent techniques are approaching their limits and more efforts are focusing on contextual computing in theory and practice.

Projects:

SmartWeb

In the SmartWeb project we aim to realize an intuitive mobile access to the Semantic Web by combining natural language processing with intelligent techniques from web search and web data analysis.

Knowledge Management (SFB 637 - B4)

In analogy to conventional logistics, autonomous logistic processes are in need of knowledge to perform their task. Data, information, and knowledge are the key resources which ensure the quality of the logistic process.

Publications:

Semantics & Context

Alles, was wir im Bereich digitaler Medien sehen, hören oder fühlen hat eine spezifische Form, Bedeutung und Funktion. Wenn wir eine Gruppe verschiedener Formen haben, sind wir, unabhängig davon, ob es sich dabei um visuelle Elemente grafischer Interfaces, um Wörter oder um konkrete Objekte handelt, letztendlich an ihrer Funktion als digitale Vermittler zwischen Mensch und Computer interessiert. Um die Funktionsweise vermittelnder Formen zu untersuchen ist es nötig, sowohl die Semantiken als auch die Kontexte, in denen sie genutzt werden, zu verstehen. Dies begründet unsere Motivation, das semantische und das kontextuelle Computing als eng miteinander verflochtene Forschungsthemen zu betrachten.

Semantic Computing

Dieser Forschungsbereich untersucht die Anwendung semantischer Technologien für neuartige Digitale Medien und Benutzerschnittstellen. Zur Realisierung intelligenter digitaler Mediensysteme der nächsten Generation ist es erforderlich, Nutzerintentionen, digitale Inhalte und die Interaktion in diesen Systemen besser maschinell zu verstehen und abzubilden. Unsere Forschungsanstrengungen sollen sich mit der Frage befassen, wie entsprechendes Wissen repräsentiert und für semantische Modelle genutzt werden kann. Neben Ontologien, die formalen Axiomen folgen, sollen auch leichtgewichtige Folksonomien zur Anwendung gelangen. Spezielle Anwendungsbereiche, die behandelt werden, sind z. B. Suche, Extraktion und Verstehen digitaler Inhalte wie Sprache, Text/Hypertext oder Bilder.

Contextual Computing

Kontext stellt weiterhin eine Herausforderung für die multimodale Mensch-Computer-Interaktion dar. Die vorherrschende Behandlung der Sprachverarbeitung und Mensch-Computer-Interaktion basiert auf den Prinzipien eines strengen Kompositionalitätsprinzips und begrifflichen Ansätzen, die zeigen, dass Bedeutung durch Form bestimmt und unabhängig vom Kontext repräsentiert wird. Kontext stellt auch im Zusammenhang mit einer Vielzahl praktischer Anwendungen der Künstlichen Intelligenz ein Problem dar. Mittlerweile reift die Erkenntnis, dass kontextunabhängige Techniken an ihre Grenzen stoßen, mit der Folge, dass der Fokus zunehmend auf theoretisches und praktisches Contextual Computing gelegt wird.

Projects:

SmartWeb

Im SmartWeb Projekt geht es um die Realisierung eines intuitiven mobilen Zugangs zum Semantic Web. Hierzu werden Verfahren der natürlichen Sprachverarbeitung mit intelligenten Such- und Analyseverfahren für Webseiten kombiniert.

Knowledge Management (SFB 637 - B4)

Ebenso wie fremdgesteuerte logistische Prozesse benötigen selbststeuernde Logistikprozesse Wissen zur Erfüllung ihrer Aufgabe. Daten, Informationen und Wissen sind die zentralen Ressourcen, die über die Qualität eines logistischen Prozessablaufs entscheiden.

Publications: