Visual Computing

Visual Computing includes the subtopics of Computer Graphics, Image Processing and Computer Vision. Research in these areas ranges from algorithms for image editing tools such as GIMP and Photoshop to 'understanding' images as well as generation and visualization of photorealistic threedimensional scenes

Panoramic images have a major flaw: Because they are projected on to a plane, they cannot contain depth information. Panovis aims at supplementing panoramic images with spatial data and at developing new use cases and business applications for this new kind of panoramic images.  

The overarching goal of this project is to achieve a demonstrable and measurable improvement and extension both of our fundamental understanding of, and ability to automatically process, this multimodal meaning-making process. To achieve this, we are bringing together technical-formal quantitative methods and hermeneutic, interpretative qualitative methods in a combined mutually enriching architecture for analysis and interpretation.

When converting images from colour to greyscale with standard conversion, data gets lost. The Color2Gray-algorithm minimizes these errors and preserves the contents of the original.

Tonemapping

Photos often do not have ideal colours and contrasts. By means of an automatical procedure, their quality is clearly improved. For this we apply adjusted algorithms from the high-dynamic-range (HDR) area.

Mind the Gap

Images often have unwanted elements which ought to be removed. Mind the Gap implements an approach for the semi-automatical elimination of these parts. First tests already show some good results.

Infinity 3D Engine

Infinity is a software for the visualisation of geodata in real time. It is written in C# and runs on Linux and Windows. As input format, CityGML and an internal format come into operation. For Google SketchUp and Blender exporters exist.

Features: Ambient occlusion, asterisk visualisation, trees, CityGML

Visual Computing

Visual Computing teilt sich in die Schwerpunkte Computer Graphics, Image Processing und Computer Vision auf. Fragestellungen in diesem Forschungsfeld reichen von Algorithmen hinter Bildbearbeitungstools wie GIMP und Photoshop über 'Bildverstehen' bis hin zu der Darstellung von photorealistischen dreidimensionalen Szenen.

Ein bisher entscheidender Nachteil von Panoramabildern ist deren fehlende Tiefeninformation, da eine Projektion auf eine Ebene stattfindet. Ziel von PANOVIS ist die Erweiterung von Panoramen um räumliche Informationen und darauf aufbauend die Entwicklung neuer Anwendungskonzepte. 

Die Zielsetzung dieses Projekts ist es, eine nachweisbare Verbesserung und Erweiterung des Grundverständnisses von Bildern als Kommunikationsmodus zu liefern, die besonders durch ein Zusammenbringen technisch-formaler quantitativer Methoden und qualitativer hermeneutischer Methoden zu erreichen ist.

Bei der Standard-Konvertierung von Farben in Graustufen gehen Daten verloren. Der Color2Gray-Algorithmus minimiert diese Fehler und erhält die Inhalte des Originals.

Tonemapping

Aufgenommene Bilder haben oftmals keine optimalen Farben und Kontraste. Mit Hilfe eines automatischen Verfahrens werden die Bilder deutlich verbessert. Zum Einsatz kommen dabei angepasste Algorithmen aus dem High-Dynamic-Range (HDR) Bereich.

Mind the Gap

Oftmals haben Bilder störende Elemente, die entfernt werden sollen. Mind the Gap implementiert einen Ansatz zur semi-automatischen Entfernung dieser Bereiche. Erste Tests zeigen gute Ergebnisse, aber auch, dass noch viel getan werden muss.

Infinity 3D Engine

Infinity ist eine Software zur Echtzeitvisualisierung von Geodaten. Infinity ist in C# geschrieben und lauffähig unter Linux und Windows. Als Eingabeformat kommt CityGML und ein internes Format zum Einsatz. Exporter existieren für Google SketchUp und Blender.

Features: Ambient Occlusion, Sternendarstellung, Bäume, CityGML